Tennessee Marijuana Laws 2019
In Tennessee, technically marijuana laws are modeled after federal laws. And federal law says that although hemp foods are legal, CBD, or cannabidiol does not qualify as a hemp food. Therefore it technically should fall under the state’s marijuana laws. So, what do Tennessee marijuana laws say?
As of fall, 2018, In Tennessee, if you’re caught with less than half an ounce of marijuana you can be charged with a misdemeanor and face mandatory fines up to $500. There is also the possibility of being sentenced to potentially serve up to a year in prison.
Selling cannabis is another matter altogether. Anyone caught selling marijuana in Tennessee can be charged with a felony and potentially serve up to 60 years in prison depending on the amount being sold and face fines up to $200,000.
The cultivation of marijuana is also a felony punishable by up to 60 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
Those are some pretty stiff marijuana laws.
CBD in Tennessee is pretty popular. So what happens if you’re caught with CBD oil in Tennessee without a prescription? Or even worse, what happens if you’re caught distributing CBD oil in Tennessee? Well, regardless of the laws, apparently nothing happens.